Maddox Prize: call for entries now open


Maddox Prize: call for entries now open

20 April 2016

Nominations are now open for the 2016 John Maddox Prize for Standing up for Science. Now in its fifth year, the prize recognises the work of an individual anywhere in the world who promotes sound science and evidence on a matter of public interest, facing difficulty or hostility in doing so. A joint initiative of the science journal Nature, the Kohn Foundation, and Sense about Science, the prize is named in honour of Sir John Maddox FRS, who was editor of Nature for 22 years and a founding trustee of Sense about Science. A passionate and tireless communicator and defender of science, Maddox engaged with difficult debates, inspiring others to do the same. 

Judging panel 2016: Professor Colin Blakemore FRS, Tracey Brown (Sense about Science), Sir Philip Campbell PhD (Nature), Natasha Loder (The Economist) and Lord Rees of Ludlow OM FRS. The judges sit in a personal capacity.

Previous prize winners: Professor Edzard Ernst, Professor Susan Jebb (2015); Dr Emily Willingham, Dr David Robert Grimes (2014); Professor David Nutt (2013); Professor Sir Simon Wessely, Shi-min Fang (2012).  

The closing date for nominations is 1 August 2016. Winners will be announced at a reception in London, as well as in Nature, and will receive £2,000. To nominate someone for the prize, please visit 

Contact: Chris Peters, Sense about Science or 020 7490 9590.

< Back

Source: Sense About Science

Latest Euroscicon Tweets

Error: You currently have access to a subset of Twitter API v2 endpoints and limited v1.1 endpoints (e.g. media post, oauth) only. If you need access to this endpoint, you may need a different access level. You can learn more here: